Ghanaian Sprinter Benjamin Azamati was named the Lone Star Conference Outstanding Track Athlete title at the conference indoor meet in Lubbock. In total, WT had 17 student-athletes earn All-Conference recognition with nine earning First Team honors. A full list of the selections can be found below.


The list of all-conference performers includes the first team, which consists of event winners, all members of the winning relay teams, and athletes scoring 14 or more points at the LSC Championships. The second team includes athletes on the second-place relay teams and those scoring 8-13.9 points, while the third team recognizes members of third-place relay teams and athletes scoring 6-7.9 points. Overall, 58 men and 57 women were honored.


For the second straight year, Azamati was named the Outstanding Male Track Athlete after winning the 60 and 200-meters at the conference meet. The sophomore won the 60 with a meet record 6.55 before returning to the track to win the 200m with the nation’s fastest time at 20.57 to set another meet record.


Azamati also earned First Team All-Conference honors along with Innocent Murwanashyaka, Sifiso Miya, Tyrin Lewis, Butare Rugenerwa, Quinton Sansing, Jeremiah Lauzon, Ohdel James and Malick Diop.


WT will send 13 Buffs to the NCAA DII Indoor Track & Field Championships on March 11-12 in Pittsburg, Kan.



First Team

Athlete School Year Points Event winner

Benjamin Azamati West Texas A&M SO 20 60 meters, 200 meters

Innocent Murwanashyaka West Texas A&M JR 18 3000 meters

Sifiso Miya West Texas A&M FR 18

Tyrin Lewis West Texas A&M SR 15 60 hurdles

Butare Rugenerwa West Texas A&M JR 11 Mile

Quinton Sansing West Texas A&M SR 10.50

Jeremiah Lauzon West Texas A&M FR 8.50 4×400 Relay

Ohdel James West Texas A&M FR 8.50 4×400 Relay

Malick Diop West Texas A&M SO 2.50 4×400 Relay